Violent birthday traditions

Okay children gather around. We’re going to take turns beating this Dora with a stick until it breaks open and you’ll be rewarded with toys and candy. Hit harder! Faster! Try stabbing it! Oh good job, her neck is broken! There goes an eye, yay! You call that hitting!? Let me just rip it.

Ah the joys of the first piñata. I am not sure how I wasn’t tramatized as a child beating my favourite characters and objects to shreds. I had one for every birthday party and this weekend was the first for our two-year-old. Thankfully there were a couple of six-year-olds or we’d still be at it.
My dad made a piñata in the form of her favourite character – Dora. It was almost life-sized. She loved it, screaming Dora!Dora! when she saw it. And shouting backpack!backpack! while she hit it. She had a great time. When the candies and toys fell she picked all the lollipops. Then only ate the white ones – piña colada – we’re in trouble.

Needless to say after candy, juice boxes, and cupcakes (Papa lit the Dora cake toppers thinking they were candles, they weren’t and they melted). There was a sugar high. And a sugar low.

It was a late night. With the little sleep we get, it was disappointing to be woken up at 4:30 a.m. by my dad. Even worse since he said, “there’s a raccoon in the house.” Papa and my dad hunted around the house for the racoon. My dad suggested getting a sledge hammer to kill it when they trapped it (he’s a little deamtic when it comes to pests. (he’s also the one who insists on piñatas.)). They couldn’t find it and we all had to assume it had left out the window from which it entered. But we all stayed awake listening for any evidence that it was still here. My dad continued to search the house this morning, and this afternoon before he left. I am convinced it’s gone. Well, I am now after Papa reassured me that sound just now was little miss’ teletubbie.

All in all it was a milestone weekend. Our daughter is two and now owns a tricycle. And baby boy is weaned off the nipple sheild. And now we own a piñata stick.

Leave a comment